September

I’m not sure where to begin this one.  Why not with the 朝日中体育祭.  That was the first of 6 (or 7 if you want to get technical) sports day’s that I attended.  Just going to call them sports days because most are Undoukai but some are Taiikusai.  Seeing as the JH is my main school, I took most of my photos here.  The first event was the 70m dash.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

Hayato (track) beats out Kouzai (track) and takes first place among the 2nd year boys.

SONY DSC

Kai (BASEBALL??) beat out the track captain, Yuuto, and, while doing so, apparently broke the school record for the 70m.  Obviously he took first for 3rd year boys.

SONY DSC

Class 3-2 cleaned house for 綱引き(pictured is 3-3..)

SONY DSC

The first years relay.

SONY DSC

The second years relay.

SONY DSC

And the third years.  They get a lot bigger in 2 years time..

SONY DSC SONY DSC

The clubs had a 10 member, 5 group, 2.5 lap relay.  For the girls, of course basketball won.  I guess they win every year.  They’re the only good team at our school.  The track team had an error.. the two 3rd years, Yuuto and Kouhei (these names are totally unnecessary but I will because I can) messed up their start and the velcro that tied them together came undone.  They had to stop and took a good 10 seconds getting it secured again.  Teru and Hayato couldn’t stop the soccer team’s Ryoya and Akira from taking first..

SONY DSC

Third years threw balls into baskets on their homeroom teachers’ backs.  Three members ran around and threw missed balls back outside of the circle for more attempts.

SONY DSC

I guess it was exhausting.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

Class 3-1 took the jump rope competition handily (pictured is 3-2…)

SONY DSC

The last event was an entire class race.  The first years walked briskly but the second years ran and the third years almost dashed.

SONY DSC

Somehow all the 3rd year classes stepped it up and went faster than their practice runs, flawless for both runs.  Tanaka sensei was supposed to be keeping pace but it looks like he’s running for his life.  Class 3-3 beat out the other teams by a hair (pictured.. 3-3!).

SONY DSC SONY DSC

3-3 didn’t take the overall win but still all smiles.

SONY DSC

The last real undoukai I went to was 朝日小。 It was the 28th, but I’m still publishing this as the 20th, just in case I want to post something else that happened in September..  The ES is very crowded during undoukai…  The school has too many kids now.  Plus, the two buildings they erected for extra classrooms makes the field even smaller…

SONY DSC

The second graders did a dance to a Dragon Ball song!  Hence the outfit.

SONY DSC

Just in case you didn’t know, I teach 1st, 2nd, and 6th grade.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

I watched the 6th graders do a .. 50?  70 meter dash?

SONY DSC

The 4th graders danced the Soran Bushi.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

Takumi having a great time at undoukai.

SONY DSC

The last event was the 5th and 6th grade doing a lot of .. stuff.  Can’t remember the name in Japanese.  Here, Sena and a few other 6th graders dashed around the entire circle of students.

SONY DSC

And waves followed them.

SONY DSC

I was sitting with the students.. and the 6th graders were facing the special guest / teachers / judges tables on the other side so..  Damn.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

SONY DSC

I went back to Minokamo to see the JHs.  I feel weird taking photos of schools I’m not (or have never) been affiliated with so.. Here’s your shot.

SONY DSC

BUT WAIT HERE’S YUU!

SONY DSC

The following week I went back to Minokamo to see Shimoyoneda.. Where most of my good photos were from last year.

SONY DSC

I was mostly hanging out with the kids because I hadn’t seen them in so long but I put on my game face when it came time for the cheer routine.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

SONY DSC SONY DSC

あ*り*が*と*う I guess I didn’t care enough to get a better shot.

SONY DSC

Why do Japanese kids do everything cute?  Even standing.. Also, those socks made her the fastest.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

Red team took it again.

SONY DSC

Lastly, I bring you to a small school in the town of Ibuka. The year before I couldn’t attend because Sunday was rained out, and I had a different school to teach at on the rescheduled Monday.. But this isn’t about me.

SONY DSC

It’s about Yota.  The boy selected not only as the Red team leader but also the leader of the Soran Bushi.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Yota, I know you wanted to win..  Don’t worry…

SONY DSC

Next

SONY DSC

time,

SONY DSC

team

SONY DSC

neff

SONY DSC

is

SONY DSC

with

SONY DSC

you!

SONY DSC

leave some hate

