The Minnesota State Fair

I don’t know how the Minnesota State Fair compares to other state fairs.  I don’t even know what other states have state fairs.  I only ever needed the one I guess.  Here are some of the things that, for good or bad, make it such a spectacle and an experience.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

In a place known for cheese curds, deep fried candy bars, alligator on a stick, etc.. I ate a chicken wrap and drank water.  And a sandwich from the deli on the way to the fair.  I guess.. I’m here to observe, not partake.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

That car automatically wins every race.

SONY DSC

Three young ladies were, I’m assuming, babysitting a small group of kids.  I have never seen this before.

SONY DSC

Please don’t call them.. But they were nice.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

Randomly a marching band followed by a cow-idol.  Parades, why not.

SONY DSC

Long green beans, why not.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

Farms made of cans, why not.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

Thanks Gander Mountain.  Andrew wore his free cardboard bird hat for about ten minutes before throwing it away.

SONY DSC

Group karaoke?  Why… not… no.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

So.. I didn’t manage to get this guy in focus.  But now that doesn’t matter.  Ta-dah.

SONY DSC

Most of these kids launched off the ramps and just jumped off their boards.  Oh well, not like I’m going to try to show anyone how it’s done.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

Is this cool?..

SONY DSC SONY DSC

Really doesn’t seem like much that you can’t see here.

SONY DSC

Jack Sparrow was hanging around the haunted house.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

World famous.

SONY DSC

Only a little cup.  Not trying to die here.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

Oh my god.  I just uploaded these onto the page and realized I have two shots of this Skyflyer thing… But I’m too OCD to just delete one because.. the pictures are numbered!!  and now you know.   DAMN!

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

Jerry Springer hanging out at the fair.. Some people cared.

SONY DSC

Somehow I’ve still never been on this thing??

SONY DSC SONY DSC

I did 19 pullups at the army reserve booth but could only manage 14 later at the marines booth.. and I was training for the marines one!!  I just couldn’t find it..

SONY DSC

No thanks.

SONY DSC

Yes, there’s art at the fair as well.  I think most people go just to get out of the sun.  Of the pic: very Donnie Darko.

SONY DSC

Go figure, these are the only two that caught my attention.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC SONY DSC

A good haul I guess.

SONY DSC

I didn’t even use this exit.  But I did leave in the late afternoon.. Only to go back a few hours later.  Coming up.. night shots.

leave some hate

